Who appoints the secretary of energy?



  1. 0 Votes

    President nominates, Senate confirms.

  2. 0 Votes

    The position was established in 1977, and the President has full discretion to appoint whomever he chooses. Additionally, both Ronald Reagan and Bill Clinton selected three Secretaries during their tenure as President. Most Presidents appoint a new Secretary of Energy after winning the election or remaining in the White House after a successful re-election campaign.

  3. 0 Votes

    Our current Secretary of Energy is Steven Chu, who was the co-winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1997.  His last job was at the DOE’s Lawrence Berkeley Lab, where the focus was on alternative and renewable sources of energy.  He was sworn in on January 21, 2009.

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!