When was the secretary of energy created?



  1. 0 Votes

    In 1977 President Jimmy Carter signed the Department of Energy Organization Act, which established the US Department of Energy as a cabinet-level department and creating the position of Secretary of Energy to head the department.  The Department of Energy was originally formed from a combination of several preexisting energy-related government programs in order to address the immediate and long-term energy concerns of the nation more effectively and efficiently.  The first Secretary of Energy was James R. Schlesinger, who had previously held the position of Secretary of Defense.

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!