What family are starfish considered to be in?



  1. 0 Votes

    There are 1800 different species of Star Fish, and they are only broken down as far as Class, all of the species exist under the same family. 

    Kingdom: Animalia

    Phylum: Echinodermata

    Subphylum: Asterozoa

    Class: Asteroidea

  2. 0 Votes

    They’re not all in the same family, after class they diverge into a number of orders, and within each order there are a number of different families.

    For example:

    “Peppermint Sea Star” is Class Asteroidea, Order Valvatida, Family Ophidiasteridae

    “Crown of Thorns Starfish” is Class Asteroidea, Order Spinulosida, Family Acanthasteridae

    Hope it helps!


Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!