Is there such a thing as a vegan marshmallow?



  1. 0 Votes

    Most brands of marshmallows contain both eggs and gelatin, which is why vegans and vegetarians will not eat them.  However, there are a number of gelatin and egg-free marshmallows available using egg and gelatin substitutes.  “Sweet and Sara” is the brand I know, but I’m sure you can find more at your local health food store.

  2. 0 Votes

    There certainly is. Marshmallows are normally made with gelatin, which is derived from various parts of cows and other animals, including the bones and cartilage. Vegan marshmallows are typically made with corn syrup and corn starch, and may also contain more organic sweeteners than regular marshmallows, like beet sugar. Carrageenan, a type of sea kelp found in toothpaste, is also a common ingredient. Some big producers of vegan marshmallows are Dandies Candies and Sweet & Sara.

  3. 0 Votes

    Yes!  Sweet and Sara as well as Dandies makes excellent vegan marshmallows.  Ricemallow is also available, which is like marshmallow fluff only made with rice.  It’s also not that difficult to make vegan marshmallows; there’s a recipe in “La Dolce Vegan” by Sarah Kramer.

  4. 0 Votes

    Yes, vegan marshmallows do exist, as their regular varieties contain gelatin. These special marshmallows can either be purchased online or made at home.,, and are just some of the companies that all offer gelatin-free marshmallows. If you would rather, marshmallows can also be made at home if you are a baker. I am posting the link below if you are feeling adventurous!

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!