How many subspecies of elephants are there?



  1. 0 Votes

    There are three species of elephants, the the African savanna elephant, the Asian elephant, and the African forest elephant. There are 4 subspecies of the Asian Elephant, the Sumatran elephant (Elephas maximus sumatrensis), the Borneo elephant (Elephas maximus borneensis), the Indian elephant (Elephas maximus indicus), and the Sri Lankan elephant (Elephas maximus maximus). The Asian elephant is the only elephant species with an subspecies, so there are 4 total elephant subspecies.

  2. 0 Votes

    Elephant taxonomy may further diversify in the future, but there are currently six subspecies. Historically, elephants have been classified into two species, African (Loxodonta africana) and Asian (Elephas maximus) elephants. There are at least two subspecies of African elephants: savanna (Loxodonta africana africana) and forest (Loxodonta africana cyclotis) elephants. For Asian elephants, there are four recognized subspecies: Sri Lankan (Elephas maximus maximus), mainland (Elephas maximus indicus), Borneo (Elephas maximus borneensis), and Sumatran (Elephas maximus sumatranus).

  3. 0 Votes

    Asian Elephants are much smaller than the African elephants only growing to a couple of meters tall. Asian elephants are found in the tropical jungles of India and China, and throughout most countries in south-east Asia.

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!