how many states legalized mariuana (pot); and what are they???



  1. 0 Votes

    There are currently 17 states plus the District of Columbia that have legalized medical marijuana: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.

    Petitions to legalize marijuana are rapidly gaining ground and supporters, becoming one of the biggest issues presented to the White House. As of yet, the White House has not addressed these new petitions.

  2. 0 Votes

    To add on to Kadybug’s answer, a number of states are in the process of petitioning and raising funds for initiatives that will fully legalize marijuana.  Washington, California, and California have initiatives that will most likely make it to a vote; additionally, Ohio, Oregon, and Massachusetts have initiatives that are still being designed that would also legalize marijuana. 

    Washington’s initiative in particular is considered to be the most comprehensive marijuana legalization initiative to be drafted.  The proposed initiative would put at least $215 million dollars of revenue into the pockets of the state government.  Marijuana would be heavily taxed at each step in the supply chain, growers, distributors, and buyers.  Also, marijuana intoxication would be enforced similarly to alcohol with a legal limit of THC allowable in the bloodstream.

    There’s a distinct possibility that 2012 could be the year several states fully legalize marijuana.

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!