How many species of penguins don’t live on ice?



  1. 0 Votes

    There are roughly 14 out of the 16 species of penguins that do not have to live on the ice, although most penguins prefer it. They are the African, Chinstrap, Erect-crested, Fiordland, Galapagos, Gentoo, Humboldt, King, Little, Macaroni, Magellanic, Rockhopper, Snares, & Yellow-eyed.

  2. 0 Votes

    All penguins live in the southern half of the world and there are a total of 17 species (some say 19). I couldn’t find an exact number, but I know for sure the only two penguins to live exclusively on ice are the Emperor penguins in Anartica. The Adelie penguins also live in Antartica but they prefer the rockier parts of Anartica. These are the only two species of penguins to live in Anartica. Here are the rest of the penguins and where they are located:

    • Fairy Penguin – Tasmania, Austrialia, New Zealand
    • Yellow-eyed penguin – New Zealand
    • Galapogos Penguin – Galapogos islands
    • Magellenic Penguins – southern coasts of South America
    • Humbodlt Penguins – west coast of South America
    • African Penguin or “Black footed” penguin – south coast of Africa
    • Rock-hopper penguin – every subartic island
    • Snares Penguin – New Zealand
    • Fiordland Penguin – New Zealand
    • Erect-crested Penguin – sub-antartic islands
    • Royal penguin – sub-antartic islands of Africa and South America
    • Macaroni Penguin – sub-antartic islands of Africa and South America
    • Gentoo penguin -sub-antartic islands
    • Chinstrap penguin – Antartic islands and sub-antartic islands (i.e. Falkland islands)
    • King Penguin – Falkland Islands
Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!