Does Jello and gelatin really come from horse hooves?



  1. 0 Votes

    Gelatin is defined as a “product obtained from partial hydrolysis of collagen derived from natural sources such as skin, connective tissue, and bones of animals.” It is an easily digestible protein that contains all the essential amino acids except tryptophan. he raw materials used in the production of gelatin are from healthy animals and include cattle bone, cattle hides and fresh, frozen pigskins. Horse hooves however are made of keratin, the same material as your hair and fingernails. Gelatin cannot be made from keratin.

  2. 0 Votes

    Supposedly they don’t because horse/cow hooves don’t contain the necessary collagen.

  3. 0 Votes

    Gelatin is made from boiling connective tissue and bones of animals (or rather animal corpses), usually cows and pigs.  When the connective tissue and bones are boiled, producers are able to collect the collagen from the tissue and bones.  Collagen is a protein found naturally in the tendons, ligaments, and tissue of mammals that has desirable properties for use in food products as well as other areas such as pharmaceuticals, photography, and tanning supplies. 

    Collagen has the ability to create substances that are “easily digested, soluble in hot water, and capable of forming a positive binding action”.  In desserts like Jello-O, the collagen is boiled and filtered and then ground up to form a fine powder.  The FDA does not constitute gelatin as an animal product because it has been processed so many times but it’s hard not to think of it as one, once you understand the process of how it was made. 

    Although Kraft claims that they do not use horses hooves to make their gelatin, it is said that Jell-O accounts for more than 80% of the gelatin market.  

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!