Do all comets have one tail?



  1. 0 Votes

    From our perspective it may seem as if a comet only has 1 tail, but in reality there are 2. When we see a comet, there are 3 main parts visible:

    • Coma – Gas and dust that form a cloud around the nucleus of a comet
    • Dust Tail – The trail of gast and dust that follows the coma.
    • Ion Tail – Gases from the comet which are converted into ions by the solar wind of the Sun.
Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!