No. Barley and wheat are both grasses in the Poaceae family and are sort of like cousins. The Poaceae family is a broad family monocot plants and includes bamboo, foxtail, sugarcane, harestail, maize, as well as wheat and barley.
Although barley is included with the other “gluten grains” along with wheat, recent studies have shown that a lot of people with wheat intolerance can actually tolerate barley. Barley is an excellent source of fiber, selenium, copper, manganese, and phosphorus.
Photo credit: http://www.foodsubs.com/GrainBarley.html
Click here to cancel reply.
Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!
Don't have an account? Click Here to Signup
© Copyright GreenAnswers.com LLC