Are there more than one species of gorilla?



  1. 0 Votes

    Experts made changes to gorilla taxonomy a couple of years ago, recognizing two species of gorilla instead of just a single species. These are the eastern and western gorillas. Four subspecies are recognized: the western lowland gorillas (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) in West Africa (Gorilla gorilla gorilla), the Cross River Gorillas (Gorilla gorilla diehli) in Nigeria/Cameroon, the mountain gorilla (Gorilla beringei beringei) in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda and Uganda , and the eastern lowland gorilla (Gorilla beringei graueri) in the eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Please signup or login to answer this question.

Sorry,At this time user registration is disabled. We will open registration soon!